Setting up NTFS permission in file server/home drive for different active directory group/users

Download XCALS from Microsoft web site XCALS download link

Extract XCALS in c:\windows folder of your server

Create a test.cmd folder in c:\Windows folder of your server and type the following in test.cmd folder

@echo off
For /D %%A in (*) do echo y| cacls D:\Home\%%A /T /C /G “Domain Admins”:F
For /D %%A in (*) do echo y| cacls D:\Home\%%A /T /C /G /E Staff:C
For /D %%A in (*) do echo y| cacls D:\Home\%%A /T /C /G /E %%A:C
@echo on

Here Domain Admin get full rights and staff group gets Change rights. individual user gets change rights. Now go the specific folder you want to apply permission from command prompt

Type test.cmd

Don’t interrupt it will apply permissions to all folder of home drive. You modify it for your need.

About Raihan Al-Beruni

My Name is Raihan Al-Beruni. I am working as an Infrastructure Architect in Data Center Technologies in Perth, Western Australia. I have been working on Microsoft technologies for more than 15 years. Other than Microsoft technologies I also work on Citrix validated solution and VMware data center virtualization technologies. I have a Masters degree in E-Commerce. I am certified in Microsoft, VMware, ITIL and EMC. My core focus is on cloud technologies. In my blog I share my knowledge and experience to enrich information technology community as a whole. I hope my contribution through this blog will help someone who wants more information on data center technologies.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Windows Server and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

