Forefront TMG 2010: organise different firewall rules by grouping rules

In this little article, I am going to show you how to group different firewall rules published and applied in Forefront TMG standard or enterprise version. You can do the following steps in TMG standard management console or TMG enterprise management server console. It can be done in a single standard array or multiple arrays in EMS.

Log on to TMG server using administrative credentials. open TMG management console. Click on Firewall Policy on the left hand side pan. You will be presented with rules you applied in TMG server.


Select more then on rules by simply pressing ctrl button and left side mouse click. Now right mouse click and click on create group.


On the policy group name box, type name of the group as shown on picture. Click ok.


Now Apply changes. Click OK and see the organised rules and polices.

   4 5 

You repeat these steps for web access policy and Email-policy also.

shareAdd to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

About Raihan Al-Beruni

My Name is Raihan Al-Beruni. I am working as an Infrastructure Architect in Data Center Technologies in Perth, Western Australia. I have been working on Microsoft technologies for more than 15 years. Other than Microsoft technologies I also work on Citrix validated solution and VMware data center virtualization technologies. I have a Masters degree in E-Commerce. I am certified in Microsoft, VMware, ITIL and EMC. My core focus is on cloud technologies. In my blog I share my knowledge and experience to enrich information technology community as a whole. I hope my contribution through this blog will help someone who wants more information on data center technologies.
This entry was posted in Windows Server and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

